Mississippi College

Leland Speed Library

Using Academic Search Premier

[This information comes from EbscoHost database.]

About the Database

Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,176 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. Examples of titles offered in Academic Search Premier include: American Historical Review, American Journal of Political Science, American Libraries, American Sociologist, British Journal of Psychology, British Journal of Sociology, Central European History, Contemporary Literature, Early American Literature, English Language Notes, Family Relations, International Journal of Psychology, Journal for the Scientific Study of Religion, Journal of Aesthetics & Art Criticism, Journal of Counseling & Development, Journal of Education, Political Science Quarterly, Journal of General Psychology, Journal of Genetic Psychology, Journal of International Affairs, Journal of Learning Disabilities, Journal of Marriage & Family, Journal of Politics, Journal of Psychology, Journal of Social Psychology, Library Journal, Social Forces, Sociological Review, Theological Studies, Women's Studies, etc. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

[back to top]

Searching Tips

There are a number of helpful tips and hints you can use to improve your search results. For example, you can use Boolean operators to link search terms together; and/or limit the search to a specific title.

[back to top]

Boolean Operators

Sometimes a search can be overly general (results equal too many hits) or overly specific (results equal too few hits). To fine tune your search, you can use AND, OR, and NOT operators to link your search words together. These operators will help you narrow or broaden your search to better express the terms you are looking for and to retrieve the exact information you need quickly.

USING THE "AND" OPERATOR: If you have a search term that is too general, you can append several terms together using "AND". By stringing key terms together, you can further define your search and reduce the number of results. Note: Unless you define a specific search field, the result list will contain references where all your search terms are located in either the citation, full display or full text.

• For example, type sleep AND walking to find results that refer to both sleep and walking.

USING THE "OR" OPERATOR: In order to broaden a search, you can link terms together by using the "OR" operator. By using "OR" to link your terms together you can find documents on many topics. Linked by this operator, your words are searched simultaneously and independently of each other.

• As an example, search sleep AND walking OR waking to find results that reference the terms "sleep" and "walking", or the term "waking".

USING THE "NOT" OPERATOR: In order to narrow a search, you can link words together by using the "NOT" operator. This operator will help you to filter out specific topics you do not wish included as part of your search.

  • Type: sleep OR walking NOT waking to find results that contain the terms "sleep" or "walking" but not the term "waking".
  • To further define your results, type: sleep AND walking AND waking to constrict the search to include all terms linked by the "AND" operator.

[back to top]

Grouping Terms Together Using Parentheses

Parentheses also may be used to control a search query. Without parentheses, a search is executed from left to right. Words that you enclose in parentheses are searched first. Why is this important? Parentheses allow you to control and define the way the search will be executed. The left phrase in parentheses is searched first; then based upon those results the second phrase in parentheses is searched.

Generalized Search: dog or cat and show or parade Focused Search:(dog or cat) and (show or parade)

In the first example, the search will retrieve everything on dog or cat shows AS WELL AS everything on parades whether or not the articles refer to dogs or cats.

In the second example, we have used the parentheses to control our query to only find articles about shows or parades that reference dogs or cats.

[back to top]

Searchable Fields

The default fields for unqualified searches consist of the following: all authors, all subjects, all keywords, all title info (including source title) and all abstracts.

The following list will help you locate detailed information referenced in this database as a field.

 

Searchable tag Description Example
AB Abstract or Author-Supplied Abstract
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search of the abstract summaries.
AB Tax
AD Author Affiliation
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for companies or organizations an author is affiliated with, may also include correspondence address.
AD Department of Education
AF Author Affiliation 
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for companies or organizations an author is affiliated with, may also include correspondence address.
AF Iowa State University
AN Accession Number 
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for an article's identification (accession) number.
AN 1105290
AR Author Phrase 
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for an article's author, in the format of last name, first name, and middle initial if available.
AR Hasanov, Alemdar
AS Author Supplied Abstract 
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for documents that have an abstract supplied by the author. [Note: not visible on interface]
AS Y
AU Author 
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for an article's author, in the format of last name, first name, and middle initial if available.
AU Jefferson
CO Company Entity 
[Word Indexed] 
Performs a keyword search for company terms within the record.
CO "GEMSTAR-TV Guide International Inc."
CS Cover Story 
[Word Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that the article is a cover story.
CS Y
CY Country ID
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for a country's ISO identification code, indicating an article's country of publication.
CY US
DE Heading or Keyword 
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for subject headings and author-supplied keywords describing an article.
DE "BUCKLING (Mechanics)"
DT Date of Publication 
[Date Indexed]
Performs an exact search for articles published on a specific date, in the format of CCYYMMDD.
DT 20020301
FM Images Available 
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for an article's type of full text. The searchable values are "T," "C," or "P." "T" indicates HTML full text; "C" indicates images embedded in the full text; and "P" indicates a PDF document.
FM P
FR FlagRefAvailY 
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that an article contains references.
FR Y
FT Full Text Available 
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that a record has full text available.
FT Y
GE Geographic Terms 
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search of geographic locations pertaining to an article's content.
GE California
IB ISBN 
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for a publication's International Standard Book Number.
IB 0-12-000797-5
IC NAICS Code or Description
[Word Indexed] 
Performs a keyword search for NAICS codes or descriptions within the article's content.
IC Motion Picture and Video Industries or 5121
IL Illustrations
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for articles containing illustrations. Values to be searched include "Y" indicating the article contains illustrations, and types of illustrations such as graphs, charts, diagrams, etc.
IL Y
IP Issue 
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for a publication's issue number.
IP 3
IS ISSN (No Dashes) 
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for a publication's International Standard Serial Number.
IS 00100277
JN Journal Name 
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs am exact search for the journal title in which an article was published.
JN Safety Science
KL Language of Keywords 
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search of the language of author-supplied terms describing the article.
KL English
KW Author-Supplied Keyword(s) 
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for author-supplied terms describing the article.
KW Wage Rigidity
LA Language 
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for the language in which an article was originally published.
LA English
PE People 
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for people within the article's content.
PE Yuen, Henry
PG Number of Pages 
[Number Indexed]
Performs an exact numeric search for an article's page length.
PG 19
PS Reviews & Products
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for products and book reviews within the article's content.
PS Barbershop
PT Publication & Document Type 
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the type of publication or type of article.
PT Periodical
RV Peer Review 
[Word Indexed]
Performs a search for the value "Y" indicating that the article is from a peer-reviewed publication.
RV Y
SD Articles With Several Reviews & Products 
[Word Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that several products are referred to in the article.
SD Y
SG Articles with Several Companies 
[Word Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that several companies are referred to in the article.
SG Y
SJ Articles with Several People
[Word Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that several people are referred to in the article.
SJ Y
SK Articles with Several Industries 
[Word Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that several industries are referred to in the article.
SK Y
SU Subject Terms
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for geographic terms and subject terms describing a document's contents.
SU Wall Street
SO Journal Name
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for the journal title in which an article was published.
SO Time
SP Start Page 
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for an article's start page.
SP 61
TI Title 
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for the title of an article, or a descriptive phrase if the article is dated before Nov 87.
TI Price
TX All Text
[Word Indexed] 
Performs a keyword search of all the database's searchable fields.
TX Orthomolecular Medicine
UI Unique Identifier 
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for an article's identification (accession) number.
UI 1105290
VI Volume
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for a publication's volume number.
VI 2

[back to top]

Definition of Fields

The following table explains the contents of each field in a Academic Search Premier record's detailed display.

 

Field name Description
Title Title of the article, and indicator as to whether or not the article is a cover story.
Alternate Title Non-English title of the article.
Language Language in which the article was published.
Authors Author(s) name in last name, first name format.
Editors Editor(s) of the book referred to in the article.
Translators Translator(s) of the non-English language article.
Source The source in which the article was published, its volume number, the number of pages in the article, and a description and number of illustrations found in this article.
Document Type Indicates a record's document type, such as article, book, abstract, company report, industry overview, and more. All Document Types are displayed in the listbutton limiter on the Advanced Search screen.
Subject Terms The specific article’s subject heading describing the record's content. Terms which can also be found in the thesaurus authority are prepended with asterisks.
Geographic Terms The specific article's geographic subject headings describing the record's content
Author-Supplied Keywords Author-supplied, searchable terms. If Keywords are in a language other than English, the corresponding language will be noted.
Company/Entity Company names, DUNS numbers and ticker symbols
Reviews & Products Reviews and articles covering books, films, and products
NAICS/Industry Codes Codes and headings for NAICS industry information
People People as subjects within the record's content
Abstract A brief summary taken from the article itself.
Author Affiliations The organization or institution affiliated with the author(s) of the article.
Country of Publication The country in which an article was originally published.
Committee Name The government department or committee referenced in the document.
Region/Area The region or area referenced in the document.
Guest Guests referenced in the article
Full Text Word Count The word count of the article's full text.
ISSN International Standard Serial Number
ISBN International Standard Book Number
Accession Number Unique number to identify the record.

 [back to top]

Reference Browsing

Reference browsing allows the user to extend a search beyond the initial result list to records that are cited by an article. These citation records can be accessed through an article's "References" link, or through the References search screen. See online help for a detailed description of this feature.

[back to top]

Publications Authority File

The Publication authority file is a list of the publications from the Academic Search Premier database. The Publication authority file is drawn from the publications listed in each record; therefore, all terms will provide links to pertinent records. You can browse this list alphabetically, or as Relevancy Ranked (keyword search).

[back to top]

Subject Terms Authority File

The Subjects authority file is a controlled vocabulary of terms that assists in more effectively searching the database. The Subjects authority file is drawn from the subjects assigned to each record; therefore, all terms will provide links to pertinent records. You can browse this list alphabetically, or as Relevancy Ranked (keyword search).

[back to top]

Index Browse

Index Browsing Index browsing allows the user to view all values that occur in specified fields in a database, along with corresponding hit counts. Access the index browse feature by clicking the green “Indexes” button on the upper portion of the “Advanced” search screen. Use the drop-down menu to choose an index to browse. Indexes can also be searched using tags. Since browsable indexes are phrase indexed, the exact form and spelling of terms as they appear in the database must be used in conjunction with the tags when entering a search manually. Indexes available for browsing in Academic Search Premier database are listed below. Tags for all fields included in the index browse feature begin with “Z” (e.g. “ZA” for Author).

 

ZA Author
ZW Author-Supplied Keywords
ZO Company Entity
ZT Document Type
ZZ DUNS Number
ZD Entry Date
ZG Geographic Terms
ZU Headings
ZH ISBN
ZI ISSN (without the dash)
ZJ Journal Name
ZL Language
ZC NAICS Code or Description
ZP People
ZS Reviews & Products
ZE Subject Terms
ZN Ticker Symbol
ZR Year of Publication

[back to top]