Mississippi College

Leland Speed Library

Using Business Source Complete

[This information comes from EbscoHost database.]

Welcome to the Business Source Complete Database Information Screen! Browse the topics listed below to find what you are looking for:

About the Database

Business Source Complete,This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete contains far more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

[back to top]

Searching Tips

There are a number of helpful tips and hints you can use to improve your search results. For example, you can use Boolean operators to link search terms together; and/or limit the search to a specific title.

Boolean Operators

Sometimes a search can be overly general (results equal too many hits) or overly specific (results equal too few hits). To fine-tune your search, you can use AND, OR, and NOT operators to link your search words together. These operators will help you narrow or broaden your search to better express the terms you are looking for and to retrieve the exact information you need quickly.

USING THE "AND" OPERATOR: If you have a search term that is too general, you can append several terms together using "AND". By stringing key terms together, you can further define your search and reduce the number of results. Note: Unless you define a specific search field, the result list will contain references where all your search terms are lofinanceed in either the citation, full display or full text.

  • For example, type finance AND marketing to find results that refer to both finance and marketing.

USING THE "OR" OPERATOR: In order to broaden a search, you can link terms together by using the "OR" operator. By using "OR" to link your terms together you can find documents on many topics. Linked by this operator, your words are searched simultaneously and independently of each other.

  • As an example, search finance AND marketing OR economics to find results that reference the terms "finance" and "marketing", or the term "economics".

USING THE "NOT" OPERATOR: In order to narrow a search, you can link words together by using the "NOT" operator. This operator will help you to filter out specific topics you do not wish included as part of your search.

  • Type: finance OR marketing NOT economics to find results that contain the terms "finance" or "marketing" but not the term "economics".
  • To further define your results, type: finance AND marketing AND economics to constrict the search to include all terms linked by the "AND" operator.

Grouping Terms Together Using Parentheses

Parentheses also may be used to control a search query. Without parentheses, a search is executed from left to right. Words that you enclose in parentheses are searched first. Why is this important? Parentheses allow you to control and define the way the search will be executed. The left phrase in parentheses is searched first; then, based upon those results, the second phrase in parentheses is searched.

Generalized Search: economics or finance and marketing or international business Focused Search:(economics or finance) and (marketing or international business)

In the first example, the search will retrieve everything on economics or finance marketings AS WELL AS everything on international businesss, whether or not the articles refer to economicss or finances.

In the second example, we have used the parentheses to control our query to only find articles about marketings or international businesss that reference economicss or finances.

[back to top]

Searchable Fields

The default fields for unqualified searches consist of the following: all authors, all subjects, all keywords, all title info (including source title) and all abstracts.

The following list will help you locate detailed information referenced in this database as a field.

 

Searchable tag Description Example
AB Abstract or Author-Supplied Abstract
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search of the abstract summaries.
AB Tax Cut
AD Author Affiliation
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for companies or organizations an author is affiliated with; may also include correspondence address.
AD Smith Travel Research, Tenn.
AF Author Affiliation
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for companies or organizations an author is affiliated with; may also include correspondence address.
AF Bremen University
AN Accession Number
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for an article's identification (accession) number.
AN 14674533
AR Author Phrase
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for an article's author in the inverted format, and the uninverted format for newswire articles.
AR Rayton, Bruce A.
AS Author Supplied Abstract
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for documents that have an abstract supplied by the author.
AS Y
AU Author
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for an article's author in the inverted format, and the uninverted format for newswire articles.
AU Manry, David
CO Company Entity
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search of company subject headings, DUNS number, and ticker symbol. Company entity and associated fields are also searched by the SU tag.
CO LIMRA International Inc.
CS Cover Story
[Word Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that the article is a cover story. This tag is also used by the Cover Story checkbox limiter.
CS Y
CY Country ID
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for a country's ISO identification code, indicating an article's country of publication.
CY FI
DE Heading or Keyword
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search of the business thesaurus, subject headings, companies, products, people, and author-supplied keywords for terms describing a document's contents.
DE Firm Performance
DN DUNS Number
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the Data Universal Numbering System (DUNS Number) assigned to a record. This tag is also used by the DUNS Number text edit limiter. Further information on DUNS numbers can be found at the D&B website.
DN 006980080
DT Date of Publication
[Date Indexed]
Performs an exact search for articles published on a specific date, in the format of CCYYMMDD. This tag is also used by the Published Date limiter. Date range searching is also supported.
DT 20020301
FM Images Available
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for an article's type of full text. The searchable values are "T," "C," or "P." "T" indicates HTML full text; "C" indicates images embedded in the full text; and "P" indicates a PDF document. This tag is also used by the Articles With Images list button limiter.
FM P
FR References Available
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that an article contains references. This tag is also used by the References Available checkbox limiter.
FR Y
FT Full Text Available
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that a record has full text available. This tag is also used by the Full Text checkbox limiter.
FT Y
IB ISBN
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search (with or without dashes) for a record's International Standard Book Number.
IB 0198297173
IC NAICS Code or Description
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for the North American Industry Classification Standard Number (NAICS) and text associated with an article. This tag is also used by the NAICS/Industry Code text edit limiter.
IC 56111
IC Office Administrative Services
IL Illustrations
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for articles containing illustrations. Values to be searched include "Y" indicating the article contains illustrations, and types of ululations such as graphs, charts, diagrams, etc.
IL Y
IP Issue
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for a publication's issue number.
IP 3
IS ISSN (No Dashes)
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for a publication's International Standard Serial Number.
IS 09596526
JN Journal Name
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs am exact search for the journal title in which an article was published. This tag is also used for the Publications authority file.
JN Journal of Corporate Finance
KL Language of Keywords
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search of the language of author-supplied terms describing the article.
KL English
KW Author-Supplied Keywords
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for author-supplied terms describing the article. Keywords are also searched by the SU tag.
KW Wage Rigidity
LA Language
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for the language in which an article was originally published.
LA English
PE People
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for people's names referenced in articles. People are also searched by the SU tag.
PE THALER, Richard
PG Number of Pages
[Number Indexed]
Performs an exact numeric search for an article's page length. This tag is also used by the Number of Pages text edit limiter.
PG 19
PS Reviews & Products
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for products referenced in articles. This tag is also used by the Product Name text edit limiter. Products are also searched by the SU tag.
PS "G FACTOR, THE (BOOK)"
PT Publication & Document Type
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the publication or document type. This tag is also used by the Publication Type list button limiter.
PT Periodical
PZ Document Type
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search of the document type. This tag is also used by the Document Type list button limiter.
PZ Abstract
RV Peer-Reviewed
[Word Indexed]
Performs a search for the value "Y" indicating that the article is from a peer-reviewed and scholarly publication. This tag is also used by the Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals checkbox limiter.
RV Y
SD Articles with Several Reviews & Products
[Word Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that several products are referred to in the article. This tag is also used by the Articles on Several Products checkbox limiter.
SD Y
SG Articles with Several Companies
[Word Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that several companies are referred to in the article. This tag is also used by the Articles on Several Companies checkbox limiter.
SG Y
SJ Articles with Several People
[Word Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that several people are referred to in the article. This tag is also used by the Articles on Several People checkbox limiter.
SJ Y
SK Articles with Several Industries
[Word Indexed]
Performs an exact search for the value "Y" indicating that several industries are referred to in the article. This tag is also used by the Articles on Several Industries checkbox limiter.
SK Y
SU Subject Terms
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search of the business thesaurus, subject headings, companies, products, people, and author-supplied keywords for terms describing a document's contents.
SU Wall Street
SO Publication Name
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for the journal title in which an article was published. This tag is also used by the Publication text edit limiter.
SO Time
SP Start Page
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for an article's start page.
SP 61
TI Title
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search for the title of a document.
TI Price
TK Ticker Symbol
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for a company's stock ticker number. This tag is also used by the Ticker Symbol text edit limiter.
TK AMZN
TX All Text
[Word Indexed]
Performs a keyword search of all searchable fields.
TX Children's Literature
UI Unique Identifier
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for an article's identification (accession) number.
UI 8929696
VI Volume
[Phrase Indexed]
Performs an exact search for a publication's volume number.
[Note: not visible on interface]
VI 2

[back to top]

Definition of Fields

The following table explains the contents of each field in a Business Source Complete record's detailed display.

 

Field name Description
Title Title of the article, and indicator as to whether or not the article is a cover story.
Alternate Title Alternate title of the article.
Language Language in which the article was published.
Authors Author(s) name in both inverted and uninverted format, as well as author affiliation and e-mail when available.
Editors Editor(s) of the book referred to in the article. This field appears in reference records only.
Translators Translator(s) of the non-English language article. This field appears in reference records only.
Source The source in which the article was published, its volume number, issue number, part number, the number of pages in the article, and a description and number of illustrations found in the article.
Document Type Indicates a record's document type, such as article, book, abstract, company report, industry overview, and more. All available Document Types are displayed in the listbutton limiter on the Advanced Search screen.
Abstract A brief summary taken from the article, or supplied by the author or publisher.
Subject Terms Business thesaurus terms preceded by an asterisk, and general subject headings describing the article's content.
Geographic Terms Geographic terms pertaining to the article's content.
Author-Supplied Keywords Author-supplied, searchable terms. If Keywords are in a language other than English, the corresponding language will be noted.
Company/Entity The company or organization, DUNS number, and Ticker number referenced in the document.
Reviews & Products Products referenced in the article.
NAICS/Industry Codes Provides common industry definitions and codes for Canada, Mexico, and the United States.
People People referenced in the article.
Author Affiliations The correspondence address of the organization or institution affiliated with the author(s) of the article.
Country of Publication The country in which an article was originally published.
Committee Name The government department or committee referenced in the document
Region/Area The region or area referenced in the document
Guest Guests referenced in the article
Full Text Word Count The word count of the article's full text
ISSN International Standard Serial Number.
ISBN International Standard Book Number.
URL Link to site where user can purchase Harvard case studies or books.
Accession Number Unique number to identify the record.

Reference Browsing

Reference browsing allows the user to extend a search beyond the initial result list to records that are cited by an article. These citation records can be accessed through n article's "References" link, or through the References search screen. See online help for a detailed description of this feature.

[back to top]

Publications Authority File

The Publications authority file is a list of the publications in the Business Source Complete database. The Publication authority file is drawn from the publications listed in each record; therefore, all terms will provide links to pertinent records. You can browse this list alphabetically, or as Relevancy Ranked (keyword search).

[back to top]

Thesaurus Authority File

The Thesaurus authority file is a controlled vocabulary of business terms that assists in more effectively searching the database. You can browse this list alphabetically, or as Relevancy Ranked (keyword search).

[back to top]

Subject Terms Authority File

The Subjects authority file is a controlled vocabulary of terms that assists in more effectively searching the database. The Subjects authority file is drawn from the subjects assigned to each record; therefore, all terms will provide links to pertinent records. You can browse this list alphabetically, or as Relevancy Ranked (keyword search).

[back to top]

Index Browse

Index browsing allows the user to view all values that occur in specified fields in a database, along with corresponding hit counts. Access the index browse feature by clicking the green "Indexes" button on the upper portion of the "Advanced" search screen. Use the drop-down menu to choose an index to browse. Indexes can also be searched using tags. Since browsable indexes are phrase indexed, the exact form and spelling of terms as they appear in the database must be used in conjunction with the tags when entering a search manually. Indexes available for browsing in the Business Source Complete database are listed below. Tags for all fields included in the index browse feature begin with "Z" (e.g. "ZA" for Author).

 

ZA Author
ZO Company Entity
ZZ DUNS Number
ZD Entry Date
ZG Geographic Terms
ZH ISBN
ZI ISSN
ZJ Publication Name
ZW Author-Supplied Keywords
ZL Language
ZP People
ZS Reviews & Products
ZT Document Type
ZU Headings
ZE Thesaurus Terms
ZN Ticker Symbol
ZR Year of Publication

[back to top]

Copyright and Restrictions of Use

The Business Source Complete database is made up of indexing, abstracts, and full text. The copyright of the abstracts and indexing is owned by EBSCO Publishing. This database is intended solely for the use of the individual patron of the licensing party.

Copyright of the full text is the property of the publisher of the original publication. Text may not be copied without express written permission except for the print or download capabilities of the retrieval software used to access it. This text is intended solely for the use of the individual user.

[back to top]